lofty award

2016 Lofty Winner

Watch This Space is thrilled to announce the 2016 Lofty Award Winner

D O R I S     K N G W A R R A Y E     S T U A R T


Doris was honoured at the Saturday night event with special speeches presented by Kieran Finnane, Beth Sometimes and Dan Murphy. Kieran Finnane has penned this articlewith more thoughts and information about her significant contributions: a worthwhile read in understanding the ecology of the arts in Mparntwe and the particular political stance Doris brings to her life work.

A huge congratulations and thank you to Doris for all her incredible work

LOFTYS Line-Up Announced

Our saucy MC for the night

✖   F L A N G I P A N I


made by our very own Chairperson

✖   Dan Murphy


Beloved Previous Lofty Winners

✖   Renowned Arts Writer, Kieran Finnane

✖   Multi-disciplinary Artist, J9 Stanton


✖   Sooji Kim & Dave Williams


performing with a secret sexy someone…

✖   The Not Real Cowboys – Lonesome Twosome


✖   E d w a r d    F r a n c i s    ( D J s e t )

✖   D J     S e ñ o r     P á t o

The Loftys, 2014

The Loftys, 2014

Call for Nominations: The 4th Annual LOFTY Award

Nominations are now open for Watch this Space’s 4th annual LOFTY Award.

The award recognises a Central Australian artist that has, through their own artistic work and engagement in the local and broader artistic community, contributed to the artistic conversation of Alice Springs and beyond.
The Lofty winner is awarded $1000 prize money, the unique hand-crafted ‘Lofty’ and the opportunity to exhibit in 2015 at WTS with all gallery costs given for free.

The Lofty Award is named after the late Pamela Lofts, one of the founding members of Watch this Space ARI in 1993. It recognises her dedication to her arts practice, consistently producing works of a high quality across a variety of media, and her contribution to the development and exhibition of contemporary and experimental art and the cultural dialogue in Alice Springs and Central Australia.

Previous winners of the award are Franca Barraclough, David Nixon and Kieran Finnane.

Download the TheLofty-NominationForm-2014

Nominations close 4:21pm on Friday 28 November.

The winner will be announced at a gala event on Friday 5 December.

The Lofty Award is generously sponsored by Brian Tucker.